keshaperry

The Sweet Science keeps Giving

In Uncategorized on July 20, 2011 at 4:06 am

Music can be an extremely therapeutic tool; sometimes I find refuge in the lyrics of rap, jazz, blues, country, well, it usually doesn’t matter the genre, if it has a good inspirational sound and feel, music is my rock. One song is Diddy’s (featuring Skylar Grey) “Coming Home” and the chorus goes:

I’m coming home
I’m coming home
Tell the World I’m coming home
Let the rain wash away all the pain of yesterday
I know my kingdom awaits and they’ve forgiven my mistakes
I’m coming home, I’m coming home
Tell the World that I’m coming

Honestly, I really hadn’t listened to the song with my heart’s ear or soul until I watched ESPN’s 2011 ESPY’s Awards. The Arthur Ashe Lifetime Achievement Award was given to a dedicated, resilient, and disciplined individual, one Dewey Bozella . Dewey spent some 30 years fighting the court system and others’ doubts of his innocence. “Coming Home” was played in the video telling Dewey’s story, and the song, which I’ve heard before yet had not paid close attention to had a deeper meaning. While Dewey held on to his innocence, he also held on to a vision–to help youths find an outlet, an alternative to a sometimes dangerous and destructive path. While boxing, the sweet science, saved his life in that it helped him to master patience and forgiveness, he too wanted to share this hope with others. And for some kids, Mr. Bozella’s story and passion to serve is all they need to chart a new path. While we are in the midst of a stagnant economy, debt ceiling discussions, elections, and NBA/NFL labor talks, among other things, the world keeps turning and improving because of people like Bozella.

Bozella has a gift, multiple gifts, and one of them is selflessness. His acceptance speech focused less on him to focus on the closure of the gym that gave youths another chance at life. The Newburgh Boxing Club shuttered its doors in 2009 and for Bozella it (the speech) was a no brainer: “I did it from the heart. It was for the kids, to let people who don’t have hope see through me that you can never give up hope.”

  1. Very interesting points you have mentioned , appreciate it for posting . “Lefty Wise guy dont carry wallets, they carry their money in a roll….beaner on the outs” by Donnie Brasco.

Leave a Reply

