keshaperry

Where were You?

In Uncategorized on May 2, 2011 at 10:27 am

Where were you when the Berlin Wall fell? I was a child nestled on the couch with my mother and grandmother. Trying to understand the significance of the event, my mother, in her infinite wisdom and noticing that she had an unusually inquisitive child (especially about politics), simply said that it was designed to keep people away from each other. “Why would that happened?” I asked. She explained that it all came down to a difference of opinions and ideals. I thank my mother for explaining something to me. Explaining that historical moment.

Where were you when Nelson Mandela was released from prison? Somewhat older, yet still not quite able to grasp the significance, but I do remember it being a Sunday morning, my grandmother cooking and in a word, rejoicing. I knew we were getting ready for church, (it may have been a Sunday that I found a way to skip out). But she explained to me in a very delicate way that a man, who stood for freedom and was for many years locked away for believing in justice and equality, was released from prison. She proceeded to explain freedom to me. And so, back on that couch, where I watched the Berlin Wall fall, my grandmother allowed me to watch history.

Where were you on September 11, 2001? I was a junior in college and all I can remember is watching Peter Jennings, who was the voice of choice in my household to retell history, watch in horror and explain what the heck we were witnessing. Where were you on May 1, 2011? Osama Bin Laden has not only been captured but assassinated?!?!!! After traveling to Amory, Mississippi to drop off supplies for those affected by an EF-5 tornado in Smithville, Mississippi, a few friends of mine came back to debrief. This debriefing led to an interesting debate on religion, and after a good fellowship with friends, a media advisory came to my phone. I looked up and said “Osama is now dead!” Now Peter is not with us, my grandmother either and I need them here to explain what happened last night. And I’m sure my grandmother would have had an interesting perspective, a perspective that I miss hearing.

And so, I await my opportunity to discuss this with my mother–a lot like that child nestled on the couch, I am still trying to wrap my head around this one.

Leave a Reply

