keshaperry

“I’ve Done My Job”

In Uncategorized on February 3, 2011 at 1:38 am

“Dear Friends,

Every year over 1 million people commit SUICIDE. Some were BULLIED because of their SEXUALITY. I lost a friend to SUICIDE, and I’m asking all of you to support alternative lifestyles. Don’t put up with or join in with BULLYING. It’s time we become more aware in this WORLD. Take responsibility to make a difference. So if my MUSIC can save one life, I’ve done my job…”

Those are the concluding remarks to singer Marsha Ambrosius’ Far Away video. In the video, we follow the trials and challenges of two same loving men. These men, for all intents and purposes, are handsome, and would fit the bill of strong, hopefully eligible African American men. Stewart Shaw, manager of the African American center at the San Francisco public library says that “internal homophobia is still pretty large in the black gay community.”

In Schenectady, NY, a nonprofit organization wanted to promote a sense of pride in African American homosexual couples. “The Albany-based group In our Own Voices says it sponsored the ad campaign to combat the stigma and homophobia of being a black, gay man. There are now 18 of the billboards in the capital region, plus many smaller ads on bus shelters.”

According to Census data, the South–in particularly, Arkansas, Mississippi, Louisiana, and Texas– “are more likely to be raising children than their counterparts on the West Coast, in New York and in New England.” Bob Witeck, Chief Executive of Witeck-Combs Communications stated that “We’re starting to see that the gay community is very diverse. We’re not all rich white guys.” UCLA demographer Gary Gates notes that African Americans and Latinos homosexual couples are two times as likely to raise children as whites.

And so, for those who remain invisible, bullied, or even contemplated suicide, we cannot ignore it any longer. As Ambrosius so bodly challenged: “Take responsibility to make a difference.” We are different, and I dare to say by design…it is through these differences that we all dare to dream and learn from the other. I learned from my neighbors, I learned from my friends, I learned from my family, and so I continue to learn from those who do not necessarily look like me or even lead a life that is far different than what I was told was “right.” I thank you neighbors, I thank you friends, and hopefully, I’ve too done my job–and continually will do my job.

  1. I was recommended this blog by my cousin. I am not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my difficulty. You’re incredible! Thanks!

  2. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you could do with some pics to drive the message home a little bit, but other than that, this is great blog. A great read. I’ll certainly be back.

  3. Unquestionably believe that which you said. Your favorite justification appeared to be on the internet the easiest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I certainly get irked while people think about worries that they plainly don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the whole thing without having side effect , people could take a signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

Leave a Reply

