keshaperry

“…run and tell that…”

In Uncategorized on September 1, 2010 at 9:29 am

That’s a line from Antoine Dodson’s passionate recollection of the “bedroom intruder” in his sister Kelly’s room. Apparently, I have been under a rock and was not aware of this story out of Huntsville, not until I picked up the local paper in Starkville. There’s a below-the-fold story about Antoine and his sister turning this somewhat frightening situation and alleged assault into a success. So if he’s making the front page in Starkville, MS, he must be a success, right?

Well what’s with this new found celebrity? According to Shira Lazar of CBSNEWS.com, “Dodson’s raw emotionality has had a lot of different interpretations. Some people were amused by the way he described what happened, some were drawn in by his intensity and his new fans – who he says are rape victims themselves – related to his reaction towards the circumstances. In their eyes, he became a sort of hero for speaking out and now making something positive of this situation for him and his family.”

There is no surprise that Dodson makes us uncomfortable for several reasons. As seen in the Today Show interview, many feel that Dodson’s rant now music video “perpetuates stereotypes of African Americans and makes light of a serious crime.”

For Errin Haines, “reactions were mixed. To many, it was a punchline forwarded to e-mail inboxes across the globe. Some were outraged that its popularity seemed to reinforce demeaning stereotypes of African-Americans. Still others saw someone standing up for himself and his community.” Haines quotes blogger Danielle Belton of the Black Snob what her characterization of the situation, to which she responded; “what I saw were two people who were very angry and frustrated because crime is so commonplace in poor communities. People got stuck on the humorous aspect of it. What happened to Kelly got pushed to the background.”

And when Belton discovered that the Dodsons were using this newfound celebrity to move out of their Huntsville project, Belton said that “so many people who have become Internet memes didn’t get anything out of it other than grief. They’re spreading awareness, raising money … taking advantage of this moment.”

  1. I enjoy your blog style, can you figure out the name of it or where you downloaded that?

  2. It is best to participate in a contest for probably the greatest blogs on the web. I will advocate this site!

  3. This is my first time i visit here. I found so many interesting stuff in your blog, especially its discussion. From the tons of comments on your articles, I guess I am not the only one having all the enjoyment here! Keep up the excellent work.

  4. I am continually browsing online for tips that can help me. Thanks!

  5. I recently discovered your blog/website and have really enjoyed reading this and some of your other posts. I thought I would dive out from the shadows and leave my first comment. I am not sure what to say other than I have enjoyed reading and will continue to visit as usually as I can.

  6. I wanted to thank you for this great I definitely loved every little bit of it. I have you bookmarked your site to check out the latest stuff you post.

  7. I was very pleased to find this site. I wanted to thank you for this great read! I definitely enjoying every little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you post. Regards

  8. hi thanks for the blog.

  9. When I found this was like wow. Thank you for putting your effort in writing this post.

  10. Mind-boggling posting, I share the same views. I wonder why this amazing scene really does not just think similar to us along with the blog site owner 😀

  11. Thanks for this! I’ve been searching all over the web for the info.

  12. The content on this article is really a single of the most beneficial material that I’ve ever occur across. I love your publish, I’ll occur back to verify for new posts.

  13. Cool Article! My spouse and i had been simply just debating that there’s a whole lot absolutely wrong details at this matter and also you precisely replaced the belief. Many thanks for a marvelous contribute.

Leave a Reply

