keshaperry

Here’s to #55

In Uncategorized on July 29, 2010 at 1:14 am

When I heard the news that former Memphis Tiger Lorenzen Wright was missing, I knew something was tragically wrong. Although I did not know Wright personally, he was not known as the individual to just “get away.” I knew enough of Lorenzen to know that he cared about the Bluff City–Memphis–and even when he was 19 years old, he understood how important it was for him to give back to those who were less fortunate. He also understood what influence he had on children following in his footsteps. Lorenzen spoke at my junior high school basketball banquet after completing his freshman year at U of M. I was literally star-strucked.

When I heard the news late yesterday afternoon that a body was found not far from my former home in Memphis, I knew then that this could not be good news. I’m sick; it saddens me to know that Lorenzen Vern-Gagne Wright’s life just came to a very sudden and tragic end. A city mourns, a family mourns, and now many are asking why. I will continue to sit with my laptop watching Memphis news outlets, all the while in disbelief. Lorenzen was not perfect, but his heart was pure; he obviously cared about people, and he readily gave back. I will forever remember Lorenzen as that wirey kid from Booker T. Washington high school, who oozed intensity, heart, and determination.

For more on Lorenzen, click here to read my dear friend David Jordan’s blog about one of our heroes.

Rest in Peace #55.

Leave a Reply

