keshaperry

“Giving a Voice to the Silent”

In Uncategorized on April 20, 2010 at 6:58 am

I took some time off to go home; the usual catching up with some much needed sleep. My hometown is literally in the middle of nowhere, but to detox from technology and the stresses of life, I escape to home. While I was there, I picked up the local newspaper (well the newspaper from the neighboring town) and see a rather interesting article about child abuse, and I recognized one of the speakers…

April is National Child Abuse Prevention Month and to “giv[e] a voice to the silent,” the Benton County (Mississippi) Department of Human Services held a Child Abuse Awareness Program, in which they invited community leaders to discuss different aspects of child abuse. To my surprise, my mother was one of the speakers (well, maybe not so much to my surprise).

She’s my mom–that’s how I’ve always seen her. But, for once I saw her for the leader she is. Benton County is one of the smallest counties in the state, a county with one of the highest poverty rates in the state, a county with one of the highest high school drop out rates in the state, but a county that has potential, pride, and successes. These success stories may not be the typical rags-to-riches stories, but these successes can be found in the lives saved, the lives touched on a daily basis. My mother saves and touches lives daily. She is a mental health therapist. Growing up, I would moan and groan to my friends because my mother, I felt, always analyzed me–I didn’t like that. But I’ve soon learned that is simply who she is. While reading the article, I realized how I have been discounting my mother’s service to the community.

Well that stops here…

Child abuse is something we all feel is horrific, horrible, and preventable. Even in the smallest corners of the world, child abuse exists. So for leaders like my mother, their mission becomes identifying it, providing help for the abuser and the abused, while encouraging healing, hope, and forgiveness for all involved.

  1. shoot cool story dude.

Leave a Reply

