keshaperry

“Not So Fast My Friends”

In Uncategorized on March 25, 2010 at 3:14 am

Channeling my inner Lee Corso, “Not so fast my friends” maybe we don’t have healthcare reform. Senate Republicans were successful in their challenge of halting the Democrats reform and the newest law, at least for now. Perhaps Vice President Joe Biden was a little premature with his comments about the reform bill, now maybe he should say this is a big deal.

According to MSNBC, “Senate Republicans succeeded early Thursday in forcing a change in a measure altering President Barack Obama’s newly enacted health care overhaul, meaning the bill will have to return to the House for final congressional approval. It was initially unclear how much of a problem this posed for Democrats hoping to rush the bill to Obama and avoid further congressional votes on what has been a politically painful ordeal for the party.”

The American public is getting a valuable lesson in American government 101; better yet, I can hear the old Schoolhouse Rock tune, “I’m just a bill. Yes, I’m only a bill, and I’m sitting here on Capitol Hill. Well, it’s a long, long journey to the capital city. It’s a long, long wait while I’m sitting in committee. But I know I’ll be a law someday, at least I hope, I pray that I will, but today I am still just a bill.” Maybe the healthcare reform law or bill is even a little too complex for Schoolhouse Rock.

Leave a Reply

