keshaperry

“Let Me Know”

In Uncategorized on January 28, 2010 at 1:40 am

Somehow, while listening to President Obama’s State of the Union address last night, I was reminded of the late R&B singer Aaliyah’s cover of the Isley Brother’s song At Your Best (You are Love). Aaliyah opens the song with one strong request, let me know, let me know, let me know. Not addressing healthcare until a third through his speech, President Obama issued a challenge to both sides of the aisles: “But if anyone from either party has a better approach that will bring down premiums, bring down the deficit, cover the uninsured, strengthen Medicare for seniors and stop insurance company abuses, let me know.”

In these economically difficult times, we all want to know–in Mississippi we want to know how education will be impacted by the budget cuts, we want to know if professors will lose tenure, we want to know whether mental health will be cut drastically, we want to know quite a bit. As the song continues: “Confusion can give way to doubt, And there are times when I fall short of what I say, What I say I’m all about, all about”–elected leaders too fall short, and President Obama appeared to be extremely humbled by some of the challenges his administration has faced. “Our administration has had some political setbacks this year, and some of them were deserved.”

Is there an end in sight? Let me know. Will the markets respond favorably in 2010? Let me know. Will, will, will, no matter the question, no matter how it is formed, we all want to know what the future holds.

Leave a Reply

