keshaperry

To the Vets in My Life

In Uncategorized on November 11, 2009 at 5:00 am

I have special thanks to veterans today. I have been blessed to have some in my life. They have exhibited courage, honor, loyalty, and friendship. So John Whitfield, Robert Lee Bean, and Sgt. Driscoll–you all have exhibited leadership and dedication. And I thank you. But I would like to take this opportunity to especially thank Sgt. Frank Wills and Lt. Colonel Rashann Harris.

I came to know Frank through our graduate courses at Mississippi State. Instantly, you can tell he’s an intense individual. He’s passionate about the military, but most importantly, he’s passionate about life, justice, and liberty. He’s an Iraq War veteran, to which I have thanked him countless times for sacrificing self for strangers like me. Sgt. Wills was recently awarded a Pat Tillman scholarship. To read the Mississippi State press release, click here.

Lt. Colonel Rashann Harris. It’s rare that I’m speechless. But it’s rare when I’m around an individual as Harris. She’s an inspiration to me, to which, much like Sgt. Wills, I’ve been made the better for knowing her. You don’t have to be in her presence long to realize her drive and commitment to excellence. It is her drive and uncanny ability to pull that out of those around her that makes her stand apart. I’m sure Webster, when defining leader and leadership, had Lt. Colonel Harris in mind when writing it. Check out Mississippi State’s Bulldog Battalion and Lt. Colonel’s Command Principles.

Sgt. Wills and Lt. Colonel Harris bleed red, white, and blue. They both fight for justice and freedom. They both down play the significance of their sacrifice and service–so on this Veteran’s Day, I wanted to show my appreciation and gratitude for a job well done.

  1. Keep posting stuff like this i really like it.

Leave a Reply

